Greetings & Salutations

We all do it.  Most of us multiple times a day.  Often, it’s just a reaction, not a conscientious thought.  Sometimes, though, there is a perceptible pause, just long enough to conceal entire untold stories, from the detailed exposition right through to the last breath of the resolution.  But then the pause ends and the answer tumbles forth, as if there had never been a break.

“How are you?”

“Fine.” Or, “Good.” Followed quickly with the return volley. “How are you?”

But what would happen if we answered honestly and thoroughly?

“How are you?”

“Dizzy with the weight of the possibilities that lie in front of me today.”

“How are you?”

“Terrified that someone will see through my facade and expose me as the imposter that I am.”

“How are you?”

“Thoroughly distracted by daydreams of the life that I am not currently living.”

Perhaps tomorrow, as I trundle through my morning, I will give space to the pause and allow for a bit of the story to seep out.  And, perhaps, when I make space, others will, too.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Greetings & Salutations

  1. This is so true. I always say ‘fine’ when a significant portion of the time I’m not fine. I wonder what the response would be if we all answered honestly when asked that question.

    Like

  2. So true! I am pretty certain that I would put most people to sleep if I gave them a real response and details. After a good weekend, I could easily talk for ten minutes (no teacher has ten minutes – especially on a Monday morning). I try to stay positive because teachers need room for the negative that the kids bring into the classroom. Thanks for getting me thinking what you’re going to say the next time that I say, “Good morning. How are you?”:)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the way you articulated those imaginary honest answers. It’s come to be a pet peeve of mine that many people who ask don’t wait to hear the answer. I love that you’re thinking both of the person asking the question listening as well as the person responding sharing an answer worth listening to.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks…it’s been a secret fantasy to respond honestly one day to one of the many people who ask that as a greeting!

      Like

Leave a comment