Still Untitled

Looking through a notebook, trying to find a glimpse of me, because right now I am feeling lost. out of focus and nebulous, somehow reflecting the insecurity that surrounds us all.  Deep among blank pages, there it was:  an incomplete poem without a title from a time I’d almost forgotten.  Almost.

This darkness has been descending for a long time

I can usually find a way to hide or insulate or even fight back with bursts of light ameliorating  the threat to completely erase me and everything i know

This darkness has been descending for a long time

Today i feel like spreading my arms wide welcome…

                                                                         you won’t find any closed doors this time

While I am far from the darkness, I am not foolish enough to believe that it is ever that far from me.

2 thoughts on “Still Untitled

  1. This is such a raw powerful slice. You recognize that it was a time not forgotten and that you are not foolish enough to believe that it’s not far from you. Sending strength from a stranger that relates to your darkness.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “While I am far from the darkness, I am not foolish enough to believe that it is ever that far from me.” This sentence took my breath. I’d love to read when you say more about that. Keep writing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment