Anticipation

 

Without a thing
           party
           meeting
           date night
there can be no anticipation

Neglect the false sense of community
    reaching through 
    digital screens and 
    voices without faces

Without potential surprise
there are no butterflies fluttering
          no scenarios played out
          no choose-your-own-adventure daydreams

Negate the surprise closings
       the surprise news & its associated graphics
       the surprise details that come each day

With nothing to anticipate
there is nothing to expect
with nothing to expect
time almost stands still

Almost.

One thought on “Anticipation

  1. Yes, I’m experiencing that “With nothing to anticipate / there is nothing to expect / with nothing to expect / time almost stands still / Almost.” Nice poem we can all relate to.
    It is so weird to know I am always free–no meetings, no school, no church, no appointments, nothing. I have so much time, but I’m not bored. I’m getting a lot done, and different things that I’m not used to doing, like actually writing poetry in April! I’ve never done that before! Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment